Cortes Generales

On Sunday, 23 July, elections will be held in Spain for Cortes Generales, the Spanish Parliament, which consists of the Congress of Deputies and the Senate.

The 1978 Constitution establishes that national sovereignty resides in the Spanish people, from whom emanate the powers of the State (Legislative, Executive and Judicial).

The Cortes Generales (Congress and Senate) hold the legislative power, the Government represents executive power and the Courts represent the judicial power.

The Cortes Generales are responsible for approving budgets, overseeing the actions of the Government and the other powers attributed to them by the Constitution.

Since the adoption of the Constitution, fourteen general elections have been held: in 1979, 1982, 1986, 1989, 1993, 1996, 2000, 2004, 2008, 2011, 2015, 2016, and 28 April and 10 November 2019

If you wish to know the results of these elections, you can consult the database of the Ministry of the Interior

Elections to the Cortes Generales are called by Royal Decree, on the proposal of the President of the Government and after deliberation by the Council of Ministers.

The Royal Decree convoking the elections sets the date on which they are to be held, the number of Deputies corresponding to each province, the duration of the electoral campaign, the date on which the elected Houses are to be constituted and the regulations applicable to the electoral process.

Both Houses will meet in a constitutive session on 17 August 2023 at the latest.

Deadline for convening the elected Congress (up to 25 days after the elections)